“VPN Phone” via CUBE in IOS 15.3(3)M

Have you fought the fight to setup ASA phone-proxy (back in the day) or VPN Phone on the ASA?  While VPN Phone was a solid solution, it could be a bear to setup and troubleshoot.

So, file this in the how did I miss this folder, but CUBE 10.0 (IOS 15.3(3)M) on the ISRG2 and ASR supports line-side SIP proxy for all of the current generations of phones (69xx, 79xx, 89xx and 99xx).  So CUBE can do the dirty work for you. 

I’ll set it up soon and document my experience with it once I get my CollabEdge guide out, but here is more information:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/ios-xml/ios/voice/cube_interop/configuration/15-mt/voi-cucm-lineside.html

6 thoughts on ““VPN Phone” via CUBE in IOS 15.3(3)M

  1. have you manage to get phone registered via CUBE phone proxy feature yet? I am looking for a step by step configuration guide. thanks

    • Sorry, guys, I’ve not had time to set this up yet. I’ve been working on virtual Telepresnce Server (vTS 4.0) — part of CUWL-PRO now, working as a video bridge registered to CUCM via Conductor. I’ll do a writeup on that soon. I’ve also been trying to get UCCX 10 with Finesse up and running, so this has taken a back-burner since those are what customers have been asking about. But I do want to get this working!

  2. Mark,
    I would like to convey my deep appreciation for putting these document which make things look so simple as far as config goes and make life easy when something is not TAC supported.
    Keep doing the good work.

    Have you had a chance to test end to end voice and Video call using MRA in mixed environment wherein end user can make both Encrypted and non encrypted end to end call based upon the end point if it supports encryption. If yes then I need your input to get this going at my end.
    Thanks

    • I don’t have a mixed-mode CUCM and haven’t tested. Theoretically it should work with the right certificates in place. I suggest waiting until Jabber for Windows 9.7 comes out and this is all officially supported, and better documented. Then you’ll be able to open a TAC case and have them help troubleshoot it.

Leave a Reply

